1. Ian

Ian Puttering Along

Hi All...and a happy new year!!

I am a newbie to Wartburgs I am afraid,...but, am seeking some help!

I have a Trabant 601 which had some factory-sourced rally car mods added to it, by it's original German owner, as he was in the lucky position of being able to buy r&d parts from the GOTHA works, when it closed down.
    My car utilises 311-type driveshafts, which connect to a modified Trabant transaxle, utilising what I assume are 311 gearbox / driveshafts? The inboard ends have a spider, with 3 x needle roller bearings, which locate in a "sliding joint-type tubular casing".
    I purchased the car, with new parts to reassemble the shafts, but want to be 100% sure that I put them all back together correctly, obviously. The bearings appear to probably be retained on the shafts by a large circlip, part way along the splined end of each shaft.
    Would anyone have a page/s from a Wartburg 311 manual that they could send me...and some addit. knowledge/experience perhaps?!
    The inboard rubber gaiters appear to either butt-up against two ridges on each shaft, or perhaps locate between them, by means of a gaiter-retaining strap, I assume?...Or perhaps, they are meant to slide, without straps, like the Citroen 2CV system used to?!!........
    Lastly,...what type/spec. of grease should I use in the inboard C.V. /Sliding joint...and at the outboard hub end c/v/ joints, when fitting the new/replacement rubber gaiters?

Any help, would be very much appreciated.

Thank you!
  2. mbeamish

mbeamish Loyal Comrade

3. Ian

Ian Puttering Along

Thanks once again,..for the contact name and details.

I'll give him a try!
  4. Ian

Ian Puttering Along

Hi all.
    Have contacted Peter Frost, who was very helpful, however he has no current facility to sort out any part diagrams of what Wartburg shaft/hub parts were used on my Trabant Historic Rally car.