1. Trabant Forums is now part of the AutoShrine Network and has moved to a new server
    If anything broke during the move, please contact admin@trabantforums.com
  1. GroupCaptSlow

GroupCaptSlow Newbie

Hey everybody I'm John (or JC if you like), I live in central Ohio. My dad spent the better part of the 1980's doing intel work with the US army in West Berlin, and growing up I heard stories about Berlin, the Wall, and the East. Ever since I was a kid I've wanted a Trabant, and now that I'm older and I'm able to go out and get one, well I'm gonna try and hunt one down! Though I have no mechanical experience I'd love a Trabi to tinker with as a fun project on the side. I've just recently discovered Trabantforums and I'm hoping you guys can point me in the right direction as far as buying a Trabant and keeping it running, I'm really excited to be here!
    BillB likes this.
  2. BillB

BillB Loyal Comrade Administrator Forum Donor

3. GroupCaptSlow

GroupCaptSlow Newbie

I'm thinking you may be right! I saw it yesterday when I first signed up, and I've been kinda lusting after it ever since. Just gotta talk to the girlfriend first and work out a way to get it from Tennessee to Columbus... at that price it's hard to say no, but I'm really not sure how I'd get it here.
  4. Steve

Steve Loyal Comrade

Trailer?
  5. BillB

Yes, if you have access to something with a class 3 hitch, rent a trailer from U-Haul.
    If you're really looking, there are not many of them around to chose from and zero at this price range. Besides, one more in Ohio and you guys can have your own car show/club.
    OTtO (Ohio Trabant Owners)
    GroupCaptSlow and Steve like this.
  6. Caleb

Caleb Loyal Comrade