1. Stuart-C

Stuart-C Puttering Along

Hello there, I have had my trabant around a month. When I first got it I could barely turn the wheel. I replaced the top swivel mounts and most of the bottoms apart from the threaded metal as I could not get the pin out. I also reattached the rack gaitor as it had come loose at one end. I have just driven the car on a 350 mile trip and while the steering seems better it is still quite stiff and the characteristics change continually. The steering wheel makes all sorts of creaking noises too. Any ideas where I should look next. Any help greatly appreciated.
  2. Ron

Ron Premium Member Forum Donor

Have you greased the rack? It can make a huge difference. The nipple is on the top of the rack.
  3. Stuart-C

Stuart-C Puttering Along

No I was unaware you could. I am completely new to trabants. Apart from greasing it is there any special technique or just grease it from the nipple? Thanks for your help
  4. mbeamish

mbeamish Loyal Comrade

when you rebuilt the kingpins did you shim them correctly . You need to add shims until they just turn with absolute minimum of up and down play
  5. Stuart-C

Stuart-C Puttering Along

I bought the full kit from ldm and swapped everything over and tightened it all up. There was no play as far as I could tell.
  6. mbeamish

mbeamish Loyal Comrade

You need to shim them until the king pin turns freely with a fraction of up and down play . You can buy the shims in various thicknesses from the usual suppliers . Unless you are very VERY lucky simply swapping everything over won't work and could be the reason your steering is heavy
  7. mbeamish

mbeamish Loyal Comrade

I assume you reamed the new Bakelite/nylon bushings ? They need to be reamed out to be a nice sliding fit using an adjustable reamer
  8. Ron

Ron Premium Member Forum Donor