1. Trabant_Mike

Trabant_Mike Puttering Along

Hi everyone. My name is Mike and I'm a student teacher living in Canterbury. I've joined as I've wanted a Trabi for years and will begin to look for one for when I start my full time teaching job later this year. I'm thinking I will import one from Germany and drive it back, so I'll be looking for lots of advice!

Also I noticed a nice little Trabi in a village between Canterbury and Sandwich. If this is you, drop me a line and say hi!

2. Justin

Justin Founder Moderator

Hi Mike! Welcome to the boards.

Keep a look out in the UK too, they come up for sale every now and then. :)
  3. Wartburg353W

Wartburg353W Loyal Comrade

Welcome Mike,
    More and more UK members are joining seems like. And I know we have some in Australia. Anybody in Canada? Are you from the UK or somewhere else? I ask because you wrote "living in Canterbury".
    Jeff
  4. Trabant_Mike

Hi Jeff and Justin, thanks for the warm welcome.

I'm actually from London originally Jeff, and have lived in a few different places. Including Spain for a while. But now I'm studying a post graduate course in Canterbury and starting a teaching job in September.

I do see them come up here, but it seems that people want ridiculous money for them at the moment! I'll keep my eye peeled though.
  5. hunterknox

hunterknox Premium Member Forum Donor

Hi Mike and welcome to the forum.

Driving back from Germany's a great idea but be warned - it took me a few hundred miles to get used to the Trabi's controls!
  6. Trabant_Mike

That's the problem, I've never driven one before. Any ideas how I can try one out without tyre kicking one which is for sale?
  7. Andrew

Andrew Most Powerful Leader Moderator Forum Donor