1. Leigh

Leigh Newbie

This is my Barkas project I'm about to start, I hope to be complete within 4 to 6 months ready for the spray shop, I have no experience with these vans at all, so may ask a few questions to the guys that own them.

History

This Barkas was used in a couple of popular films in the 80's and 90's. It has since then sat in dry storage (it still has some GDR tyres on it)

Plans

My partner wants a camper so I'm leaving the interior to for her to design, not sure on color's yet.
    I'm dropping the engine and gearbox out for an overhaul and cleanup.

Pics

Here are some more pictures of her up close showing the worst of it.

Behind drivers seat
    behind drivers seat.jpg

Behind passenger seat
    behind passenger seat.jpg

Drivers footwell
    drivers footwell 1.jpg

Passenger footwell
    passenger footwell 1.jpg

Roof Roof 1.jpg

Under passenger door
    under passenger door 1.jpg

GDR tyre. I have 3 of these, 2 on the van and the spare.
    GDR tire.jpg

Is this the original toolkit for the barkas? I have since this picture found 2 more tools for the kit
    toolkit.jpg

Inside roof (just surface, most of it)
    inside roof.jpg

Light cluster rust (just surface) and bottom rust
    light cluster.jpg

Its late here so I bid you all farewell

Thanks

Leigh

Attached Files:

Justin likes this.
  2. jfreakofkorn

jfreakofkorn Loyal Comrade

I would so love to own one of these van(s) =0(
  3. Wartburg353W

Wartburg353W Loyal Comrade

In the photo "behind passenger seat" there's an end wrench playing hide and seek inside the panel. Good luck on your project. There are one or two guys on here who know the Barkas inside and out so you're in the right place.
  4. Bountyflyer

Bountyflyer Premium Member Forum Donor

Good luck with your project. A Barkas is an advanced collector car and always ALWAYS have something braking down on it. This is why it's quite rewarding to take it for a drive!